Another question Re: Unfed Navy Movement

Thank you Stuart, but yes please, I do need to know more... You see now we have a situation where we can calculate unfed army movement precisely, but have only a vague guide as to navy movement (not even that unless one is a very old chap with an arcane edition).

The tables at the backs of ALL my copies of the rule books, give the Naval Movement table, then the Movement Mode Costs table directly opposite. This must give a strong implication that the 4/3rds rule applies to armies as well as navies.

Which would be 1.3333 rounded up to 2 movement points per hex, hence a max movement distance of seven.

Unless we calculate it as 14 divided by 1.3333, which gives 10.5. Which would allow a navy to move 10 hexes (but not AROUND 10, it would be always 10). So is this actually the way it's calculated?

And if that's the case, should we then be tallying unfed army movement when planning moves as 2.333, 2.333, 4.666 then checking to see if it falls within the 12 or 14 points, rather than rounding up for each hex as we go?

Laurence G. Tilley

http://www.lgtilley.freeserve.co.uk

···

At 05:52 PM 20-02-02, MiddleEarthGames wrote:

They meant to say 'You will have AROUND 10 movement points' but
it did not come out that way. Let us know if you need
anything further.

In a further attempt to kill this thread:

--- In mepbmlist@y..., "Laurence G. Tilley" <laurence@l...> wrote:

Which would be 1.3333 rounded up to 2 movement points per hex, hence

a max

movement distance of seven.

Correct. Seven sea hexes. One would think that you would have failed
to move ten by now. :slight_smile:

Unless we calculate it as 14 divided by 1.3333, which gives 10.5.

Which

would allow a navy to move 10 hexes (but not AROUND 10, it would be

always

10). So is this actually the way it's calculated?

Ugh. ForcMar and MovNavy are 14. MovArmy is 12. These are fixed.
Only the cost of individual hexes is adjusted.

And if that's the case, should we then be tallying unfed army

movement when

planning moves as 2.333, 2.333, 4.666 then checking to see if it

falls

within the 12 or 14 points, rather than rounding up for each hex as

we go?

Laurence G. Tilley

You always round as you go. Let's use an example. Everyone pull out
your maps.

Suppose you are an unfed infantry army at 2924. You want to move
towards 2227, and there aren't any enemy fortifications or armies in
the way.

1) From 2924 to 2925 is to a plains hex along a road:

2 * 4/3 = 8/3, rounded up to 3

2a) From 2925 to 2926 is to another plains hex along a road, but
across a bridge:

(2 + 1) * 4/3 = 4

2b) But suppose, an agent had been really bored previously and had
sabotaged it:

(2 + 2) * 4/3 = 16/3, rounded up to 6

3) 2926 to 2927 is the same as 1), therefore 3.

4) If 2927 to 2828 is the same as 2a), it'll be 4 again.

Movement cost in the case of 2a) is 14 from 2924 to 2828.

3 + 4 + 3 + 4 = 16

In the case of 2b), movement will stop at 2927, which has a cost of 12
movement points,

3 + 6 + 3 = 12

because 2828 would require 16.

3 + 6 + 3 + 4 = 16

Questions? Comments? Rocks?

···

---
Derek Henry
duck.daring@att.net
(presently bored enough waiting for his next game to start to respond
to this list)

You always round as you go. Let's use an example. Everyone pull out
your maps.

If you always round as you go, how come an unfed navy moves at 4/3rds of its movement, but still manages to cover 10 hexes? That's the question we're waiting for Harlequin to answer.

If the answer is: "You don't round as you go." (Which is the only way I can explain it at present) then it leads to the question "Is the same true for army movement?" Imagine an unfed cavalry troop moving along flat roads only - most of us would calculate this as 2 per hex, 7 for a force march, but the naval issue suggests that they might be able to move 10 (assuming there are 10 plains road hexes consecutively somewhere). But, if you'd been reading Dan's thoughts on army movement last week, you'd have seen him claiming that sometimes movement results are inconsistent with the round as you go system.

Derek Henry
duck.daring@att.net
(presently bored enough waiting for his next game to start to respond
to this list)

Well how very gracious of you.

Laurence G. Tilley

http://www.lgtilley.freeserve.co.uk

···

At 11:02 PM 20-02-02, duckdaring wrote:

--- In mepbmlist@y..., "Laurence G. Tilley" <laurence@l...> wrote:

If you always round as you go, how come an unfed navy moves at

4/3rds of

its movement, but still manages to cover 10 hexes? That's the

question

we're waiting for Harlequin to answer.

That presumes you can show that an unfed anything (navy or cavalry)
*has* moved 10 hexes. If so, it sounds like there's a movement bug
akin to the old 820/870 that allowed for double character movement.

>(presently bored enough waiting for his next game to start to

respond

>to this list)

Well how very gracious of you.

Heh. I try.