CME New Player's Review

I’ve now played four games of CME with opponents much more experienced at MEPBM. It has been a wonderful learning experience. I’ve had lots of fun and I think my game has visibly improved. I’m still a relative novice so forgive me if this all sounds naive but my thoughts on what works and what could be better below. Perhaps some food for thought for the tournament.

The Good

• There’s a lot of strategic options at the beginning and this is a great strength. Both sides have a variety of opening gambits open to them and I think this makes it a much more fun experience for players new and old who don’t want to follow the tramlines of 1650.

• The recruiting of and utilising recognisable heroes in the game from the setting is wonderful. I was drawn to the game for the setting and the character-driven order engine. This module was the first time I’ve had the opportunity to play true heroes / villains. It felt like a Middle Earth game for the first time for me.

• Besides a mistep in the first game I had, the economy was managable and supported the ambitions I had. It still required some management but it was a constraint rather than a wall you hit.

• Turn arounds are FAST! Some days we had two turns in a day. But we were averaging 1 turn a day in most of these games with a slow up in the mid-teens. For learning the game, this is much, much preferable to 2-week turnarounds.

• I was lucky on this perhaps but I had lovely opponents who took the time to review and discuss the game afterwards. I learned a lot from them.

The Bad

• What I didn’t know early on and I’ve now learned the hard way, this is primarily a game about finding artifacts. If you’re not identifying and finding 6-10 artifacts per turn by turn 10 you are so far behind the game that it is a monumental feat to pull pack. (This gets worse with my final point below in the “Ugly” section)