Digest Number 883

LT wrote :

So it would, by your Method Two always be 7 for an unfed
MovArmy or 10 for an unfed ForcMar or MovNavy.

**Actually, it would be 8 and 10 to me.

The complications come, no doubt from the odd times when partially fed
armies have to move.

I looked at your table, but I'm not sure it's easier to use than the one in
the book. I'd like 4 little tables spaced apart: Fed All Cav; Hungry All
Cav; Fed Other; Hungry Other. (I know I should do it myself)

**8-:slight_smile:

Personally, I always forget to calculate in the bridges and fords when
struggling with the unfed movement calculations.

I _thought_ that the movement addition for the bridge, ford, or minor river
is added in _before_ the four thirds movement penalty was applied. So for
moving an unfed infantry army across a ford into rough, I'd be adding the 1
to the 5 and then adding a third to that total and then rounding up:
  (1+5)x4/3 = 8 no rounding needed
However your table suggests that you interpret it as being applied to the
components individually:
  1x4/3 = 1.33333333 rounded up to 2 for the bridge
  5x4/3 = 6.66666666 rounded up to 7 for the rough
A total of 9 for the move.

I expect I'm wrong. But if by any chance I'm not, this may be the
explanation for the occasional differences you experience.

**Yes, the explanation I got from Harly is the same, 8 is the correct
calc above, you add in the cost of crossing water b4 you add in the
4/3. It might explain the occassional differences I've experienced.

**However The Question I actually wish to pose to the list &
Rob who replied me for Hary is a confirmation of the difference
that arises from the two methods of calculating that arose from
the explanations in the rulebook from the two different sections
in the rulebook, i.e. the "less than 75% and the 4/3s rules.

Let's say an unfed infantry army moves tries to move through
3 hexes of plains, without crossing water.

Using the 4/3 rule, you can actually be able to do it with a MovArmy
order, the calc is as follows ...

3 * 4/3 = 4

4 * 3 Hexes = 12 Mps.

Using the "Less than 75% rule", ...

3 * 3 Hexes = 9 Mps.

But with a 850, MovArmy order, you only get 8 Mps of
movement as 12 * 75% = 9 Mps. Less than 75% = 8 Mps.

So, with the "Less than 75%" Rule, you won't be able to
move through 3 hexes of plains with a MovArmy order
but actual experiences shows that it's possible. (Anyone
else who found this otherwise, let me know).

So can Harlequin confirm the 4/3 rule is the actual rule in effect
and the "Less than 75%" rule is typo error in the rulebook that
should be clarified for the public ???

b.e.