RULES' QUESTION for clint and others

Actually that is NOT what the rulebook says.

Restrictions in the rule are as follows:

Army/Navy Commander or Company Commander only
New Commander has Command skill
New Commander is at same location
New Commander is of same Nation
New Commander is of same type of Commander (clarification: Army/Navy to
Army/Navy or unassigned Commander, Company to Company or unnasigned
Commander, but not Army/Navy to Company or vice versa)

It's pretty clear and especially well described in the paragraph
describing the 780 order.

···

-----Original Message-----
Subject: Re: RULES' QUESTION for clint and others

<snip>

Also, I know from personal experience, that if you want to combine two
companies, you can use TrComm to do that. There's a gotcha there too, if
the total of the two companies is > 9 the transfer will fail even if you
tell the commander to not join the new company.

Interesting - according to the description of the Transfer Command order
you can only do it if "New Commander is not a Company Commander". I
assume that only applies when transferring an army, then, but it's not
clear in the rule book.

Even more interesting - we clearly have different copies of the rule book.
I was quoting from my copy.

Clint - are there any other differences that people with older copies of the
book should know about?

Richard

···

----- Original Message -----
From: "Robert Bolin" <Draugnar@one.net>
To: <mepbmlist@yahoogroups.com>
Sent: Monday, February 04, 2002 1:10 AM
Subject: [mepbmlist] Re: RULES' QUESTION for clint and others

Actually that is NOT what the rulebook says.

Restrictions in the rule are as follows:

Army/Navy Commander or Company Commander only
New Commander has Command skill
New Commander is at same location
New Commander is of same Nation
New Commander is of same type of Commander (clarification: Army/Navy to
Army/Navy or unassigned Commander, Company to Company or unnasigned
Commander, but not Army/Navy to Company or vice versa)

It's pretty clear and especially well described in the paragraph
describing the 780 order.

-----Original Message-----
Subject: Re: RULES' QUESTION for clint and others

<snip>

Also, I know from personal experience, that if you want to combine two
companies, you can use TrComm to do that. There's a gotcha there too, if
the total of the two companies is > 9 the transfer will fail even if you
tell the commander to not join the new company.

Interesting - according to the description of the Transfer Command order
you can only do it if "New Commander is not a Company Commander". I
assume that only applies when transferring an army, then, but it's not
clear in the rule book.